top of page

PMLC to host 4 Nations Rugby League Wheelchair comp!

Wales Rugby League are proud to announce that their Wheelchair side have been selected as the hosts for the 2019 Four Nations.

It's only the fourth time this tournament has been held, with Wales taking runners-up sport to England in both 2012 in Hull and 2016 in Rochdale and the wooden spoon in 2014 in Medway. The other competitors are Scotland and Ireland.

The event will be staged at Plas Madoc Leisure Centre, Wrexham on Saturday 28th and Sunday 29th September. Further tournament information regarding fixtures and kick-off times will be released in the coming weeks.

On being selected as the hosts for the tournament Wales Team Manager, Mark A Jones said: "This is the first time the tournament has been held outside England and we're excited that it is coming to Wales.

"We are working hard with our venue host the Splash Community Trust at Plas Madoc Leisure Centre to make this an event to remember.

"Wheelchair Rugby League is an icredibly exciting game played by women and men in the same team and by people with a range of abilities. It will be tremendous to see the best Wheelchair Rugby League athletes playing against each other in Plas Madoc. We hope people will come along to watch the games and to cheer on Wales."

Wheelchair Rugby League is fairly unique in that it is completely open, offering all players of both sexes, whether disabled or not, the opportunity to compete both with and against each other on a level playing field.

A spokesperson from Plas Madoc LC commented "We are extremely honored to be named as the venue for the 2019 Four Nations Wheelchair Rugby League Tournament, it will be a fantastic 2 days of entertaining sport and a real showcase of what we can offer here at our community leisure centre!"

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page